Skip to content

ANNOUNCEMENT

November 23, 2008

Hello, readers and listeners.

After much thought and consideration, I have decided to end my weekly program on KZFR, Animals in the Press. As you know, this program was to serve as a replacement for Animal Matters, which ended when the host could no longer find the time to do the show.

This host finds herself in the same boat.

I work two jobs; one full-time, the other part-time, and the only time I have to research my program is when I should be working. It isn’t fair to me, and it isn’t fair to you, because you only get a half-assed show as a result.

I also feel as though, because of lack of time for planning, the show is crap. No one listens in, no one cares what I’m talking about, and most importantly, I don’t care about it, either. That isn’t to say that I don’t care about animals or veganism, because I do care for those things greatly. But, I find I don’t really care about putting a program together, because no one else cares … it’s a vicious cycle, really.

I don’t have time to plan for interviews or guests, and I fear taking live calls. How can someone host a talk program and not take calls? It’s blasphemy, really.

I’m guessing that this announcement will go unnoticed, the show will disappear, and no one will raise a finger to complain, and that is fine with me.

Thank you for listening, if you did, and I hope I was able to teach you something.

Sincerely,

Sarah

P.S. If you’re wondering what will happen to this blog, well … it will carry on and become what it once was; a blog about animals and animals in the news.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Clay permalink
    November 25, 2008 12:12 pm

    Sorry to hear that the show will be ending I for one realy enjoyed the show and will miss hearing it.

    Clay

  2. November 28, 2008 6:31 pm

    Hi there… I know this is “old” news as you’ve decided to continue your show… Your show about animals and how they are in peril… Your show about what we must do – That we MUST do – (something) – (everything) to help them. Your show that you love because you love animals…. So glad you’re staying with a renewed commitment to your work. Thanks for all you do for the animals –

  3. December 15, 2008 9:27 pm

    Sarah (Walrus?) if you ever want to have a meeting of the minds as far as content, tips or pointers I would love to share info that I have and hear what you have to say! Don’t ever give up the show. Animal rights programming is virtually non-existent on campus/community radio. Someone should have told you though that it seriously takes years to build up a profile and a listener base. It is hard work but well worth it and you are already doing an amazing job!!!

Leave a Reply

