Skip to content

Show No. 16: 8/19/08

August 19, 2008

Click here to listen to Show No. 16: 08-19-08

Hi there!

You’re probably reading this because you listened to my show today and (a) wanted more information about the stories I talked about, (b) you wanted to find ways to help, (c) you wanted to leave a comment or question about today’s show, or (d) you wanted to find out more about me. Well, you’re in the right place!

Here are links to the stories I talked about on today’s show. But first, in case you’re wondering, my opening song was “Be Healthy” by the Dead Prez. Awesome. Here are your links for today’s show:

Dog stands guard over owner after he commits suicide

http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/hotstories/5940127.html

Dog dies during traffic stop:

http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/story?id=5598075

Ailing K-9 police dog euthanized:

http://www.chicoer.com/advertise/ci_10211970?IADID=Search-www.chicoer.com-www.chicoer.com

Michael Vick files for bankruptcy:

http://blogs.usatoday.com/gameon/2008/07/michael-vick-fi.html

Humane Society grant helps Sacramento SPCA with foreclosure pets:

http://www.sacbee.com/102/story/1161481.html\

Military penguin becomes a sir:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7562773.stm

What to do with traumatized elephant?:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/15/us/15elephant.html?th=&emc=th&pagewanted=print

Today I played “The Dog Song” by Nellie McKay

Nellie McKay
The dog song

I’m just a walkin’ my dog
Singin’ my song
Strollin’ along
Yeah it’s just me and my dog
Catchin’ some sun
We can’t go wrong

My life was lonely and blue
Yeah I was sad as a sailor
I was an angry ‘un too
Then there was you
Appeared, when I was entangled
With youth, and fear, and nerves
Jingle jangle
Vermouth and beer
Were gettin’ me mangled up

But then I looked in your eyes
And I was no more a failure
You looked so wacky and wise
And I said, lord I’m happy
’cause I’m just a walkin’ my dog
Singin’ my song
Strollin’ along
It’s just me and my dog
Catchin’ some sun
We can’t go wrong
’cause I don’t care ’bout your hatin’ and your doubt
And I don’t care what the politicians spout
If you wanna companion
Well just go right to the pound
And find yourself a hound
And make that doggie proud
’cause that’s what it’s all about

My life was tragic and sad
Yeah I was the archetypal loser
I was a pageant gone bad
Then there was you on time
And wagging your tail
In the cutest mime
And you was in jail
I said woof, be mine
And you gave a wail
And then I was no longer alone
And I was no more a boozer
We’ll make the happiest home
And I said lord I’m happy
’cause I’m just a walkin’ my dog
Singin’ my song
Strollin’ along
It’s just me and my dog
Catchin’ some sun
We can’t go wrong
’cause I don’t care ’bout your hatin’ and your doubt
And I don’t care what the politicians spout
If you need a companion
Well just go right to the pound
And find yourself a hound
And make that doggie proud
’cause that’s what it’s all about
That’s what it’s all about
That’s what it’s all abow-wow-wow-wout
That’s what it’s all about

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

