Skip to content

Roberti Steer

November 2, 2007

I’m taking my ten minute break right now to tell you what is happening at the farm this very moment. Roberti Steer, our long-time friend and guest welcomer, is being put underground today.

Roberti battled with severe arthritis for many years. He was too large to support himself and paid the price daily. We were able to keep him comfortable for a long time, and even up until this morning, he was happy and anxiously awaiting his special food with the medicine mixed in.

Roberti was rescued from a stockyard in 1995, where he had been abandoned because he was too weak to even be sold. Roberti served as our “welcoming committee” along with the rest of the special needs herd; Eugene, Eli, Ben, Tyler, Nellie, and Calvin. If you came to the farm to visit, you met this group of beings with warmth and joy. Roberti was 12 years old. The special needs herd now only consists of Ben and Tyler, and we all hope they can continue to welcome guests for years to come.

Roberti was the very first steer I met here at Farm Sanctuary, back in 2004 when I came here for the very first time for the Celebration for the Turkeys event. I cried that day, but I cried a lot when I met Roberti and his friends. Tears of joy, of course. Today, they are tears of sadness.

It is a sad day here. Nobody’s eyes are dry. I even saw our maintenance guy choke up, and in the three years I’ve been here, I’ve never seen him choke up over an animal.

If you ever had the pleasure of meeting Roberti, I am sorry for your loss. And ours.

Rest in peace, my dear old friend. You will be sorely missed by everyone whose life you ever touched.

2007_11_01_roberti_steer_ca_lastday-013_small.jpg

roberti2.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2007 5:55 am

    oh sarah, i’m sooooo sorry to hear this! roberti was such a sweetheart. i have a picture with him from my visit last year and it’s one of my favorites from the whole trip. :( poor sweetie. i can’t believe how many animals you’ve lost this year. *sniff*

  2. Molly permalink
    December 17, 2007 6:55 am

    I miss you Roberti.

Leave a Reply

