Skip to content

some really neat stuff.

October 26, 2007

So, let’s see … the first thing I wanted to talk about was a call I received from someone a few weeks back. She was trying to intervene with a park in the state of Washington, who was going to auction off a couple of pigs for donations for the park. The pigs would, of course, be sent to slaughter following the auction. The person who called was trying to find a place for the pigs to go, and we couldn’t take them, so I referred her to BaaHaus Animal Sanctuary. The last I had heard from her, the farmer (although kind) was unwilling to relinquish the pigs, and the auction would go on as scheduled. Last week, this very same person contacted me with the news that the pigs were relinquished by the farmer and given to the sanctuary. Now, as far as news goes, this was the best news I’d heard all year. Normally these types of things don’t end this way, and I hate to say it, but I had very little hope for the two pigs. It made me feel really good that I was able to help her out, and that the two little pigs had a happy ending.
My new job as “placement coordinator” has had me talking to some very kind folks, most of whom are on the same page as I am. Just today I spent an hour on the phone with a woman who had moved to Hawaii from California only to find out that their view of animal rights is basically that animals have no rights. She basically summed it up as a “third world country” as far as animals go. It sort of made me sad, but she reminded me that there are folks there trying to change things, including herself. It was a nice conversation and a good way to end the day.

Also, my rant was published in the Fall issue of The Animals Voice Magazine.  If you don’t have a copy of it, buy it. Better yet, subscribe. They really need subscribers. The magazine is amazing; such beautiful layouts and photos, and thought-provoking articles and stories. And I’m not just saying that because I work for them from time-to-time; I’m saying that because I really like the magazine. A lot. I especially like the two women who run the magazine, Laura Moretti and Veda Stram. I think their dedication is something we should all strive for.

Anyway, a couple of folks wrote to Animals Voice about my rant, and this is what they had to say:

Also, if you could pass this along, the essay by Sarah Downs (Humane Meat? B.S.) made me realize that I need to re-veganize! I had been slipping, even though my initial reasons were exactly those that she talked about. So, although the whole issue has been really intense, it's all information that people like me need o keep being reminded of!

And:

Thank you for another excellent issue of "The Animals Voice". Sarah Downs' piece is worth the price of the whole issue.

It made me feel really neat. I still don’t understand how my ranting and raving could make it into a magazine like Animals Voice, but I am not the smart one who makes decisions about that kind of stuff.

My letter to the editor was also published in the Chico News and Review in the last issue. I was hoping the person I was addressing would respond, but they did not.

That’s it for now. More blogs to come as I feel like it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    October 29, 2007 10:06 pm

    I’m impressed! Good job! I also enjoy the way you write, despite all the cuss words. You have a way of saying things that makes it very interesting to read.

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "neat"

Leave a Reply

