Skip to content

a meaty matter

August 16, 2007

here’s another one of those conundrum’s. remember the article i posted in which a woman is a vegan chef, yet she cooks meat dishes for her clients? this is a similar situation.

this guy is a vegan butcher. ah-mazing.

never in my right mind could i imagine cutting up flesh for the sake of some customers. but this guy does it. i almost have to give him props for it. i mean, according to the article, he’s out there, trying to educate people: right there on location. that’s got to take some balls.

article source.

[article excerpts to follow]

Standing behind the BriarPatch Co-op Community Market’s meat counter, 28-year-old Marc Mongiardo appears to be an ordinary grocery store butcher — though his lifestyle is guided by a philosophy of excluding the use of animals for food, clothing or any other form of consumption.

Mongiardo is a vegan.

Living according to his vegan views for the past five years, Mongiardo continues his work as a butcher in hopes of educating meat consumers about the benefits of consuming less meat and of eating naturally produced meat. 

“I know I live in a world where most people eat meat, but I feel that being a butcher for natural meat allows more options,” Mongiardo said. “If everyone in the town ate natural meat, they’d be better off because there’s no hormones, antibiotics or chemicals in natural meat.”

“If I can at least educate people about the benefits of natural meat, I feel like I can actually have some influence on the whole animal situation. It’s a small way of being active on the issue on a community level,” he said.

The former carnivore began with tentative experiments in living the vegan lifestyle, but the vegan philosophy has become his passion.

hey man, whatever works. that’s my philosophy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jocelyn permalink
    August 16, 2007 9:16 pm

    I would have never thought such a thing would exist – a vegan butcher?! I can’t even imagine.

  2. Ryan M. permalink
    August 16, 2007 10:12 pm

    I wonder if he’s anything like me. I have a hard time making emotional connects to farm animals because of deeply ingrained cultural programming. I can’t shake it very easily. Maybe it will take a dozen farm sanctuary visits to reverse it. So he probably has little or no emotional connection to the animals he butchers. They’re still commodities. He seems to be a vegan for pragmatic reasons only.

  3. August 17, 2007 4:28 am

    I think he’s full of shit. I wonder what his customers are like. Fish eating vegetarians dressed in Nike?

    You’d do more good for the animals in one day handing out MYM than one year of being a “vegan” butcher.

  4. August 17, 2007 10:59 pm

    After careful deliberation and weighing all the pros and cons, all I can say is “fuck this guy.”

  5. August 17, 2007 11:01 pm

    yeah, i’ve certainly changed my mind about this guy after our conversation. he’s really full of shit.

    but at least it’s vegan shit.

  6. veganbutcher permalink
    December 13, 2007 8:38 pm

    you are so lost. i quit that job gladly, but can you just quit being judgemental?

  7. veganbutcherc permalink
    December 14, 2007 6:06 am

    and one more thing. the ALF (animal liberation front’s) website quotes me three times. i guess someone gets the bigger picture.

  8. December 14, 2007 5:13 pm

    “you are so lost. i quit that job gladly, but can you just quit being judgemental?”

    I was unaware that blogs were meant to be objective. Perhaps my viewpoint that blogs are a forum for opinions is way out of line, but I stand by my original thoughts which I posted four months ago.

    “and one more thing. the ALF (animal liberation front’s) website quotes me three times. i guess someone gets the bigger picture.”

    This statement seems a bit pretentious. Perhaps, I may have “missed the bigger picture” but I find nothing admirable about working in a job that directly conflicts with personal ethics. Furthermore, the only mention of you, I found on the ALF website is the original article in which this blog is a response to, although I’m sure you’ve done much more research on yourself in the past four months than I have. If your feelings were hurt, than I personally am sorry.

Leave a Reply

