Skip to content

two things i’ve accomplished this weekend

August 12, 2007

first, i found a dress for the gala next month. the dress i wore last year has been snagged by lenny while it hung peacefully in my closet. actually, that dress didn’t end up as bad as another one that was hanging right next to it. so, i had to go find a new one. i tried looking at all the thrift stores but couldn’t find anything worthy of this event. so kerrie and i trekked to sacramento yesterday, visiting two different macy’s stores before settling on a dress that worked for me.

i tried to find the dress online afterwards so i could post pictures of it here, but alas; i was unable to find it. so, i took pictures with my camera phone, which don’t do it justice. plus, the only way i could snap a picture without crumpling the dress or letting it dangle on the floor to collect cat fur was to hang it on the bathroom door. which is brown and ugly. so, anyway, here it is:

gala-dress-2.jpeg

dress-3.jpeg

so it ties around the neck. (ignore the tape!) i’m actually quite fond of it. although, i got to thinking; the next time i have to buy a formal dress, i might go for a light green of some sort. but, black works too.

the second thing i accomplished? I FINALLY FINISHED HARRY POTTER!! man, it was so good. so exciting, so many things going on, so many questions answered. don’t worry: i won’t spoil anything here. just know that it was SO worth the wait.

i’ve got some housecleaning to do, so i’ll duck out here. have a great sunday, and i’ll see y’all on the flipside.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Rawj permalink
    August 13, 2007 8:58 am

    Looks very cute. From thrift stores to Macy’s. I bet there was a little cost difference ;P

  2. August 13, 2007 9:07 am

    Are you speaking of the Animal Acres gala?

    I so wanted to attend, but unfortunately money is a little too tight. You’ll have to give us a good report back so I can live vicariously through you. :)

  3. August 13, 2007 5:21 pm

    no silly, the farm sanctuary gala! i work for farm sanctuary, remember? :) so anyway, i get to go for free, so it all works out in the end. also, i didn’t pay for my dress, rawj, so there.

  4. August 13, 2007 9:57 pm

    Oh, Duh!

    I had that on my mind because I just found the letter I got in the mail about it!

    I would have REALLY loved to have gone to the FS one as well. Still! Report back! ;)

  5. Jocelyn permalink
    August 13, 2007 11:15 pm

    I LOVE your dress! You’re going to look SO hot in it – I can tell already. =) Wish I could do your make-up before (and if you were willing) but I will be spending the whole day at a skin care trade show and rushing back to get myself ready. I can picture you with a subtle smoky eye and really dark lashes – that would look so good on you with this dress!

  6. August 13, 2007 11:19 pm

    Jocelyn-
    DO MY MAKE-UP! DOOOO MYYYYY MAAAAAKE-UUUUUPPP! I swear, we’re going to have to figure something out. I am so bad at make-up. I am a little worried about having a great dress with bad make-up and bad hair! Seriously. We have to figure something out. Have to.

  7. Your Tattoo-Photographer permalink
    September 6, 2007 10:05 pm

    I can’t do your makeup on your face (I’ve never done that), but I can explain how to do your makeup while I put my own on (I learned in theatre, dontchaknow).

Leave a Reply

