Skip to content

what an odd turn of events.

August 9, 2007

not only did my family go through a small crisis (still being worked out, actually) but someone sent a $50 bill to my home address, addressed to someone who does not live here.

i opened it up not realizing it wasn’t addressed to me and found a card with a note from someone’s aunt and uncle, wishing them a happy birthday. inside the card, a $50 bill.

my first reaction, given my current and ongoing financial crisis, was to keep it. who doesn’t have this thought, excluding mother theresa and the dalai lama? but, i know if i keep it, karma will come back and bite me in the ass. i also know what it’s like to lose money in the mail; either money i’ve sent, or money that was being sent to me.

so i’m sending these folks their money back in hopes that someday, the return favor will be met tenfold.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan M. permalink
    August 9, 2007 3:52 am

    sending it back is definitely good karma.

    Now, as far as Mother Theresa… I was reminded of this article
    http://www.slate.com/id/2090083/

    I’m not really sure if she’s someone to look up to.

  2. Dan permalink
    August 9, 2007 4:24 pm

    I knew I liked you.

  3. Jocelyn Richards permalink
    August 9, 2007 10:17 pm

    You did the right thing!

  4. Colleen permalink
    August 9, 2007 10:33 pm

    Karma (or whatever) will come back at you because you’re not just sending $50 back. You’re sending $50 back with the right heart.

Leave a Reply

