Skip to content

sex with meat-eaters off the menu

July 31, 2007

i just really cannot believe i’m posting this, knowing that my dear mother and father could very well be reading along. but, i just found this so interesting, and i know many of my vegan friends fit right into the category they talk about here. now, i’m not going to kiss and tell you which category i fall into, tsk tsk. rather, i’ll let you come to your own conclusions.

eta: now am i fantastic or what?! i managed to find this article and it hasn’t even been published yet!

click here for article source.

Sex with meat-eaters off the menu

The Press | Tuesday, 31 July 2007

No sex, please, you’re a carnivore. A new phenomenon in New Zealand is taking the idea of you are what you eat to the extreme.

Vegansexuals are people who do not eat any meat or animal products, and who choose not to be sexually intimate with non-vegan partners whose bodies, they say, are made up of dead animals.

The co-director of the New Zealand Centre for Human and Animal Studies at Canterbury University, Annie Potts, said she coined the term after doing research on the lives of “cruelty-free consumers”.

Cruelty-Free Consumption in New Zealand: A National Report on the Perspectives and Experiences of Vegetarians and other Ethical Consumers asked 157 people nationwide about everything from battery chickens to sexual preferences.

Many female respondents described being attracted to people who ate meat, but said they did not want to have sex with meat-eaters because their bodies were made up of animal carcasses.

“It’s a whole new thing – I have not come across it before,” said Potts.

One vegan respondent from Christchurch said: “I believe we are what we consume, so I really struggle with bodily fluids, especially sexually.”

Another Christchurch vegan said she found non-vegans attractive, but would not want to be physically close to them.

“I would not want to be intimate with someone whose body is literally made up from the bodies of others who have died for their sustenance,” she said.

Christchurch vegan Nichola Kriek has been married to her vegan husband, Hans, for nine years.

She would not describe herself as vegansexual, but said it would definitely be a preference.

She could understand people not wanting to get too close to non-vegan or non-vegetarians.

“When you are vegan or vegetarian, you are very aware that when people eat a meaty diet, they are kind of a graveyard for animals,” she said.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan M. permalink
    July 31, 2007 6:06 am

    I can certainly say that someone stuffing their mouth with meat is the biggest turn-off _ever_. A big sloppy burger? A steak the size of a face? Not only is it meat but those sorts of meals always seem so ridiculously excessive. I don’t think I could reconcile with an _avowed_ carnivore.

  2. July 31, 2007 7:39 am

    When I saw this earlier today I got a huge smile on my face. VEGANSEXUAL! Yes.

    I think it’s time for a email campaign to myspace to have this added to the “sexual orientation” box. ;)

  3. July 31, 2007 5:13 pm

    Sarah, I have read your blogs with great interest and, while I do not agree with a lot of what you say, I have always found them to be thought provoking. This is the first one that I found to be contemptible. Choosing not to be with someone due to their diet is a sure sign that you do not truly care for that person. More importantly, prejudice is hateful. Prejudice is ignorant. Prejudice is ugly regardless if it is wrapped in two sesame seed buns or lettuce leaves.

  4. Billy permalink
    August 1, 2007 12:22 am

    That is great and entertaining! Dan missed the boat on this one. i would not sleep with someone who killed people why would i sleep with someone who killed animals?

    its not about PREjudice at all. if they eat meat and you know it how can that be PRE judgement?? anyway…

    entertaining, although this statement is a bit wacky and the fact that it is about the Christ church ( uggg religion gag!)

    “you are very aware that when people eat a meaty diet, they are kind of a graveyard for animals,”

  5. August 1, 2007 2:32 am

    Prejudice against another species besides your own is pretty hateful, and ignorant, and ugly.

    I truly care for all people, but find it difficult to have the person I am intimate with not have the same ethics that I do. Knowing that they partake of something that I find morally wrong is a very difficult thing to overlook.

    Wanting to be around others who support your beliefs is something that everyone wants, whether its religion, politics or personal morals.

    I’m not trying to stir the pot, just present my views. Feel free to delete my comment. :)

  6. August 1, 2007 3:23 am

    Hey Dan,

    I always appreciate your comments to my blogs, so thank you.

    I’m going to talk about what the article left out, and maybe that’ll clear things up a little bit. I can see why it would be a little unnerving.

    The article failed to mention that when a person makes the decision to go veg*n (that is vegan, vegetarian, lacto-ovo, etc.), particularly if they’re going veg*n for ethical reasons, that decision is usually a very deep and very personal one. For myself, it took one video, an outburst of rage, denial, shock, and some bawling thrown in there too; I was vegan within the blink of an eye. For me, that was the most life-changing decision I ever made. I’ve found with most of the veg*n’s I know, it’s the same for them, too.

    When choosing a partner, whether it be lifelong or a casual thing, one of the first things I look for in a person is their sense of compassion. Are they veg*n? No? How do they feel about the rights of animals? Not on the same page as me? Oh well! I move on to the next candidate. For me, it’s as simple as that.

    When I first went vegan, I already had a partner, one that I thought (at the time) was going to be lifelong. He went vegetarian because of my influence (still is) and we have since parted ways. Since then, I’ve dated a number of blokes; vegetarian, non-vegetarian, vegan … you name it, I tried it. After going through all that, I decided what’s best for me is to stick to like-minded individuals. Kissing a meat-eater is a huge turn-off for me, and that’s just part of who I am now. I see it as the same as Catholics only dating Catholics, Atheists only dating Atheists (I only date Atheists or Agnostics, for example). Finding someone who is on the same page as you is SO important, in my opinion, and even though this article didn’t come right out and say it (the article was pretty satirical if you ask me), I think that was the point it was trying to get across.

    Personally, I didn’t really like all the “ew, meat-eaters are gross graveyards” comments they threw in the article. I don’t think like that, but apparently some people do. I just don’t find eating meat to be very attractive.

  7. August 1, 2007 3:29 am

    eta: and what the hell is all this Christchurch stuff? they didn’t mention what it was, they just starting throwing in quotes from “Christchurch vegan[s]”!! this was a terrible article as a whole, but i did find it interesting that someone coined a term for this sort.

    the end!

  8. Jeannie permalink
    August 1, 2007 3:40 am

    Christchurch is a city in New Zealand. If you were in New Zealand reading the article it would be self-explanatory.

  9. Ryan M. permalink
    August 1, 2007 4:50 am

    The writer certainly was eager to make Christchurch clear. It’s amusing to me sense I have a few friends in NZ, one of which lives in Christchurch for university. Both are avowed meat eaters but they’re absolutely terrific people.

    I also don’t agree with the graveyard comments from the article. I never even thought of that. I just can’t not think about their being _seemingly_ closed minded to alternative ways of diet or lifestyle. It’s totally possible to get around that but it’d be hard, especially for a possible partner.

    Finally, I totally agree with having a partner that is like minded in areas that generally prove to be dangerously divisive.

  10. August 1, 2007 11:44 pm

    Hell my name is Roger and I am a Vegansexual ;P. I won’t be more than friends with someone who isn’t Vegan and I find myself wanting to be friends with non Vegans less and less. Current friends are fine,but when it comes to making new ones I am sort of hesitant (referring to non Vegans). Being Vegan has to do with more than just diet. It has nothing to do with prejudice. It has to do with attraction and being able to make a connection with someone. I wouldn’t be in a relationship with a murderer or a rapist.I wouldn’t be with someone who is racist either. I need someone who has similar morals and beliefs. I might be with someone of a different religion,but I am way more likely to be with someone who is atheist (possibly agnostic). I do not feel like any of these things are prejudice. I am straight so I do not find males attractive so does that mean I am prejudice because I won’t be in a relationship with a guy? Seems like Dan is saying you can’t have things you want/need/have to have in a partner (requirements of lack of a better term) or you are prejudice. Everyone should just be alright with being with every other person on this planet?? I don’t think so!

  11. August 2, 2007 4:34 am

    Sarah, thanks for sharing this. It had never occurred that there would be a term for what we do. That in mind, it’s hard, as a vegansexual, finding girls with whom it’s worth falling in love, and then when I do find them, I usually find myself asking questions like, “Uh, do I think I’m in love with this girl merely because she’s vegan? Or is it because of that open door there that I’ve been able to look at what else makes her such a splendid creature?” It’s usually just the vegan part. But other people really aren’t worth dating; it’s the harsh truth of compassionate living.
    I’d also go as far as applying these standards to so-called natural bodybuilding competitions. Competitors who bulk up on animal protein are essentially entering the contests with thousands of other contestants in their bodies. They got big, inflated on the souls of the innocent! No wonder their bodies take on unnatural shapes and sizes–those spirits are trying to escape! Something must be done!

    Oh, and just for clarification, I only date vegan sluts. All three of them.

  12. August 2, 2007 5:11 am

    One more thing: Peta has a problem with this in Norfolk. Not only do Peta employees avoid any hand-in-hand, tongue-in-mouth relationships with any of the natural locals, but they also isolate themselves socially from practically everyone there. There are enough of them around that you will always see someone you work with when you’re walking down the street, looking for a movie at the local independent store/theater/ Naro, or picking up a pizza. It kind of feels like high school or being a townie in early undergrad school. It’s not good for community-building relationships, that’s for sure.
    And I have nothing bad to say about Peta after working for them for two months. It’s just not my style.

  13. August 2, 2007 9:20 pm

    Sarah,

    Just wanted to follow-up: I know my comment came off as harsh, but this blog entry took me by surprise. In my mind, you, as a vegan, have the moral high ground. I admire that you live as you do outside the “main stream”. I know you did not write the article and I suspect (confirmed by your comment) that you do not agree with the complete tone of it, but, the fact remains, it promotes bigotry. Anytime you judge a group of people by one characteristic, you are being prejudicial. I support your right to associate/be friends with/sleep with anyone you want. Just be aware of the reasons why you may be discounting someone. If it is because you don’t find them attractive, then fine. If it is due to ONE defining characteristic, then you have lost the moral high ground and should really rethink it.

    As I have stated to you before, I greatly enjoy reading your blogs and being exposed to new and different ideas. It might be best not to push this one too strongly, though. It seems inconsistent with the message you appear to want to convey and, honestly, promotes the vegan-hippy-nut stereotype. There is enough hate and intolerance in the world, why look for more?

    I hope you understand that this is not intended to be an attack on you or on veganism. It is bigotry that I hate and will attack it every chance I get. To quote Jefferson: “I have sworn upon the altar of god, eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.”

    BTW, congratulations on five years!

Leave a Reply

